maggiealderson

Seven Days of Postive – Day 76

In Friends, Hair, Moon on December 3, 2014 at 10:57 pm

moon

Yesterday was a surprise high day and holiday, today was the opposite. Nose to the grindstone, bum up, head down, crack on to it.

I’m doing the copy edit of the printed pages of my book and desperately need to get it finished, but things keep coming up which make me have to break off. It’s driving me nuts.

Today I had full day of it which was great, even though it meant I didn’t get my head outside until it was already dark.

When I did finally open the front door to sniff the air and get a feel for what manner of day it had been (very cold and rainy as far as I could tell from my position at the desk), the moon was just coming up over the easterly hill which rises steeply up across the road from my house.

There’s something very special about a moon rise.

This evening I went to my dear friend Nicki’s house (two streets over) to get my hair colour done in her kitchen.

I love getting my cuts from the brilliant Giles Robertson at the glamorous John Frieda salon up in Mayfair, but my highlight foils sessions in Nicki’s kitchen, talking about our kids (they’ve known each other since there were two and Archie and Peggy are now at school together) are an equal joy.

She’s one of the funniest people I know and we have such a laugh.

We have been known to accidentally drink a lot of wine while it’s happening, but tonight we were both on a pre-Christmas detox, so I sipped my beloved mugs of hot water, while she sipped the chilled version.

I returned home smiling and blonder at the edges.

  1. Bravo for a big work day and hair colour too – that’s a gold star day in my book. I know you’ve done it all before but getting a book to this stage must still be exciting (I hope) for you? BX

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

