maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 122

In Friends, Swimwear on March 7, 2015 at 9:51 pm

IMG_5409

It’s been another beautiful day. I can’t remember a winter with so many towering blue skies.

To make the most of it I walked for nearly two hours, all the way along the seafront to where the Hastings Half Marathon will start in a couple of weeks, my chap running in it for his chosen charity Disaway. (A great organisation that provides holidays for physically disabled people, with volunteers going along to care for them.)

It’s over five miles there and back and I could really feel I’d done something which was great. The light was really beautiful, with children and dogs casting dark shadows as they ran on the shiny wet sand at low tide.

IMG_5406

It was wonderful to see the re-emergence of Hastings Pier, like a phoenix from the ashes – it was torched by arsonists in 2010, although it had fallen into shameful disrepair (another bungle by Hastings Council) rendering it unsafe to use, some years before.

An amazing team of volunteers has made this happen, winning a grant of over £8 million from the Lottery Heritage Fund, which they’re using to re-launch the Victorian structure as an exciting modern pier.

It’s very sad that the wonderful round ballroom where the Rolling Stones, The Who, Jimi Hendrix, Tom Jones, and Pink Floyd all played has gone, but the re-born pier will be thrilling in a new way. Bring it on.

You can read more about it here http://www.hpcharity.co.uk/

My niece Sarah – one of my six – came to stay which was so lovely. I don’t see nearly enough of any of them, but when we do meet up there’s never any awkwardness. Seeing her and Peggy snuggled up on the sofa together watching a movie thoroughly toasted my cockles.

In other news, a couple of days ago I went on an expedition with my dear friend Sall, to our newly discovered lingerie shop in Rye, Pearl & Siren. I was on a mission which always fills me dread – I needed a new swimsuit for a spa trip in a couple of weeks.

It wasn’t a nightmare at all. I immediately found the most gorgeous cozzie and when I tried it on, it really looked OK. I didn’t projectile vomit at all as I looked at myself. That was a first.

The price of it just about made me faint dead away, but as Sall said – what price can you put on feeling confident in a swimsuit?

It’s by a Belgian brand called Prima Donna which seriously understands engineering – and it’s navy and gold, which I think is the chicest colour combo ever.

This is my prize cossie. Fab, no?

primadonna_swim-swimwear-swimsuit_control_-riviera-4000834-blue-0_3411957

  1. The photos are beautiful Maggie, those moments are so precious when you stand back and enjoy the weather changing. Autumn in Melbourne is my favourite time of the year, the weather extremes start to ease and you get to enjoy gentle, mild days and cooler nights. Not to mention the other big plus about this time of the year…Chocolate!!!

  2. Your cossie is divine. Your friend is right – you can’t put a price on self confidence. Enjoy !

    • It was three figures!!! in ££££!!!!!!!!! I felt so guilty, but it’s so beautiful I keep it on a hanger … I’m going to a snobby French spa for a travel story, so it’s the right cossie for the job… x

  3. Dear Maggie – that is one joy to behold cozzie. Having many years of experience in helping women look their best for the big day – the undergarments are often just as important as the layers visible to the world. Your cozzie comes with a lot of research and skill and your friend is right – YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR and you won’t regret it. Important to make sure that the cozzie is rinsed thoroughly in luke warm then cool water and let dry thoroughly before storage – that way the precious swimmers will last as long as possible. I love the colour too – smart. I hope you really enjoy your spa visit. A friend of mine (who I might add at this stage is virtually blind without her glasses on) decided to treat the 2 of us to a spa trip a few years ago. All women, but one is virtually naked all the time – not the most comfortable of situations for me but it was a great experience and the massage and scrub truly unforgettable. Excellent news about the pier – heritage def. worth resurrecting. Big congratulations on the long walk. I am a devoted walker – great time to think and one sees many things that the trip in the car can never offer. x

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

