maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 112

In Friends, Musicals, Theatre on January 29, 2015 at 9:36 pm

CITY OF ANGELS

Now where was I? Oh yes, Monday.

I had a breakfast thing in London on Tuesday which gave me a great excuse to go up to town on Monday night and stay with one of my dearest pals.

We met in the early 1980s when we were both newly minted arrivals on London’s media scene. I can still remember the exact moment I met him – you know how that happens sometimes?

It was some party, a launch of some kind in a very crowded bar and this very tall handsome man introduced himself with enough twinkle in his blue eyes to light the Trafalgar Square Christmas tree. We’ve been great mates ever since.

He’s clever, funny, very successful, but one of the things I really value about him is his loyalty. A real friend for life guy.

As a lovely surprise he had tickets to a musical at the Donmar Warehouse called City of Angels, which has had rave reviews.

Set in the 1930s, it’s a very clever parallel story of a noir crime novelist moved to Hollywood to write the screenplay for one of his Raymond Chandler-esque novels.

The novelist’s story and the plotline of the book/film unfold simultaneously, with the same actors playing in both, with some very well observed examples of how a writer’s life influences their output. That made my chuckle to myself.

The distinction between the two stories was that the ‘real people’ were in colour and the characters in the ‘film’ were in black and white, so cleverly done with costumes and lighting.

CITY OF ANGELS

In one scene a bed with a green satin headboard, became a bed with a grey satin headboard, just by changing the lights on – what I presume was – white satin.

The songs were great, the costumes were fabulous and the cast wonderfully energetic. It also had some great lines in the ‘she tried to sit on my lap while I was still standing up’ (which is actually from The Big Sleep) vein.

donmar 2

And it was great to see it in the intimate confines of the Donmar, with seats on three sides.

Trevor Nunn was in the audience. I enjoyed observing him in his natural habitat.

But most of all it was just heaven to go to the theatre, because living out of town as I do now that’s something I really miss. Like a big drink of a delicious complex cocktail for the brain.

  1. Sounds marvellous. I’ve only been to the theatre in London once – it was a real treat, saw my fave Jeremy Northam in Noel Coward’s Hay Fever a few years ago.

    Heaven!

    Lyndsey Duncan was also in it, however she must have been ill as the understudy was on stage that night (Jeremy made up for this disappointment though!)

  2. You were lucky! I booked tickets for the Donmar last year for me and a friend who was on a flying visit to London from Australia. I got to the box office to pick up the tickets 45 minutes before the performance was due to start, to find that it had been cancelled due to illness. There was no SMS message, and I had travelled 80 miles to get there. There was no time to book something else. It was a huge disappointment.

  3. Dear Maggie, what a fab. week you have had. The Donmar, I am green with envy. Hope u have another lovely weekend planned. BX

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

