maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 102

In Ballet on January 5, 2015 at 11:22 pm

10384857_10152967776138289_3946682342214903691_n - Copy

Today I worked. I’ve got a lot on.

But it was my 12 year old darling’s last day at home before going back to school tomorrow, so I took a break to eat lunch with her, watching a bit of Disney’s Robin Hood. I will miss her horribly.

This early evening I went to a meeting for the campaign group I’m involved with, which is fighting to have this hideous, unauthorised building removed from the middle of an officially protected Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

You wouldn’t have thought it was so hard to have something so clearly wrong and illegal, and hated by the people of the town – it has destroyed the views on the most wonderful clifftop walk, for miles – put right.

But we’ve been fighting like tigers for six months and it’s still far from being sorted.

It’s on the land of a caravan park and the owners have also cut down about 70 trees, revealing their hideous trailer park, which was previously well screened from every angle on this beautiful bit of landscape.

Then they build this.

safe_image

It’s an outrage and fighting to get it put right, somehow against the council we have elected, has really challenged my faith in democracy at times. It feels more like they are working to protect the rogue developer than what is good for the mass of people.

On the good side, it has given me a sense of solidarity in a group of people, which has been so missing from my life since I stopped working in an office. I didn’t know any of the other people on the committee when I started and they are so varied and so great.

Tonight I worked some more, taking time off to watch a brilliant documentary about ballet kids competing at international competitions, with my own little dancer.

We particularly loved this girl, Michaela DePrince, who was adopted as a war orphan from Sierra Leone, to lovely people in the US. She’s amazing and is now a member of the Dutch National Ballet.

untitled

First Position is a very good watch, but it did make me think I don’t have what it takes to be a dance mom. I did not enjoy the mother who fed her son and daughter – eight and 12 – low fat cheese to keep them ‘thin’ enough.

Once I start watching ballet I can’t stop and I loved this clip from the Royal Ballet about pointe shoes.

  1. Go Maggie – best of luck for your seaside campaign; determined and persistent locals really can make a difference! From a fellow campaigner! We are at a lovely seaside spot in Victoria so it seems odd to think England is back to work today. Down here at Somers the koalas and dolphins are out and about! It’s lovely!

  2. Just a small local initiative to save a ‘free to use, drop in’ community tennis court, situated in a gum tree shaded heritage Square. The powers that decide these things had deemed it surplus to requirements and unsafe after 70 years of continuous patronage by locals, children and visitors. The community disagreed!

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

