maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 93

In Christmas on December 21, 2014 at 10:41 pm

IMG_4539

Tonight we finally decorated the tree.

I love it when it’s up, but I do find the process of getting all the decorations down from the attic, fighting with metres of tangled lights and having bits of tissue paper scattered all over the sitting room very enervating.

Especially as, over the years, the cat is refining the art of sitting in the most inconvenient place, while we’re doing it. Then he attacks the lowest level ornaments. Viciously.

The whole thing makes me feel hot and itchy, but I do love seeing all the baubles again as I unpack them.

In all honesty, I probably have too many ornaments now as I have a few from the family tree, loads of vintage ones I bought before they became a thing (they’re now about £7 each which is just ridiculous) and each year I feel it’s very important to buy one new one.

It is lovely when you get those out and remember where you bought them.

IMG_4549

This year my very good friend Barbie gave me this gorgeous ballerina pig, so every time I get her out in future I’ll think of Barbs. I don’t know what she’s just said to this snowman, but he looks shocked.

IMG_4546

I have so many favourites. My koala and kangaroo are very dear and I like this football, which I bought for my footballer husband (he couldn’t be less interested, but I like it).

IMG_4545

I have a special area, always near the top of the tree, where I hang my shoes, most of which I bought in the shop of the Metropolitan Museum in New York, they’re serious treasures.

IMG_4543

But I think my number one decoration is Napoleon. My great friend William bought him for me in the shop at Les Invalides, in Paris, when we were visiting the great man’s tomb.

What an extraordinary place that is. In all my years of going to Paris for the shows (I’ve spent several months of my life there, when you add it all together, which makes me very happy), I’d never been there. It looks like the interior was designed by Gianni Versace it’s so over the top. Marble a go go.

William and I had such a special day racketing around the city (he lives in Sydney, but Paris is his spiritual home) and it’s lovely to put Napoleon up and be reminded of it.

So Napoleon is on his branch looking out over the room and a joyeux Noël feels very close to hand.

IMG_4553

  1. What fabulous decorations Maggie! I have a mix of family ones (sooo special as they remind me of my childhood), ones I have bought myself and ones gifted from friends (which I treasure).

    Wishing you & your family a very merry christmas Maggie.

  2. Gorgeous Maggie. Memories, memories!!!! Nothing like this time of year. It’ll be hot, light, bright and green here in Brisbane! Perfect really! Have a great one Maggie…and all the best for the New Year 2015. Have just posted a blog on Christmas Brisbane Style!!! Take a squizz Maggie. http://parisallons-y.blogspot.com
    Ciao, Robyn.

  3. Fabulous Maggie! I haven’t decided which pagan decorations I will bestrew my house with yet. One year I had an arrangement of antlers in an urn. Another, a ‘tree’ made of walking sticks and rifle cleaning rods, with the odd vintage squash racket thrown in.

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

