maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 92

In Family, junk shopping, salvage on December 20, 2014 at 10:57 pm

IMG_4521

This morning got off to a good start when I fired up the computer to find lovely positive responses to yesterday’s post on here and on Twitter.

I’d been nervous about confessing to my cringey little ritual with the pinking shears and the neurotically horded tiny pieces of ribbon – only to find that loads of other people save those ribbons too.

It’s funny how it’s always the posts and columns you think ‘This is a weird one, they’re all going to go right off me now…’ which get the biggest response.

After that I didn’t have long at my screen as we had to leave by 9.30 latest (husband’s orders) to drive to Oxfordshire to meet up with sister, brother and sister-in-law and mother for lunch, so we could then bring my mum back here for Christmas.

IMG_4524

We meet at the country branch of Lassco, the amazing architectural salvage yard (they have two amazing sites in London as well), because it’s half way between me and my sister and mother, close to my brother, and two minutes off the motorway.

It’s also the most fabulously atmospheric place, with roaring log fires and you eat your lunch next to a row of elegant claw foot baths.

IMG_4523

I love roaming around seeing what rusty treasures I can find. They’re so artlessly clever the way they mix them all up. A tower of industrial metal storage boxes, next to a marble urn, then a huge chandelier next to some beaten up old steamer trunk.

IMG_4527

And to let you in on a little secret, it’s one of the places which inspired the setting of my new book…

http://www.lassco.co.uk/

IMG_4526

  1. You give me inspiration every single day. I have figure out how to see your posts, then forward to my email and then I can read it! How’s this for a semi-blind person figureing thisngs out? There will bey typos in thi as I cannot see how to make this bigger. I have a pair of pinking shears from the mid-80s. Used them on my card.
    I so love your post. Happy holiday time to you and your family.

    • Oh thanks so much Toby, that means a lot to me. It’s quite a discipline to do this every night, but the pay back in a sense of connection with people like you, is so worth it xxx

  2. Lassco looks gorgeous and atmospheric! I too love the ritual of recycling Christmas cards and some years ago invested in a small craftshop guillotine, saving me from I scissor fingers when I need a break. Such a nice way to give the cards a second life! Happy Christmas!

  3. Yes Maggie Lassco is my kinda place…looks fab. Brisbane is gearing up for Christmas too….despite all the tragedy. Good to see people spreading the love though, Have a great one Maggie.

  4. I.Need.To.Be.Here – looks like my idea of heaven. Shame it is sooo far from Sydney 😦

  5. There’s a Lassco in Vauxhill, isn’t there, because that is the place I associate with happy memories when we stayed in Vauxhill two years ago… a couple of times we hopped on a bus from London to get to Lassco for lunch before going back to the city afterwards. Wonderful atmosphere – probably because of the rustic surroundings combined with good food. You could check out price tags of the beautiful chandeliers while waiting for food to arrive.

    Hey, collecting old things and recycling it later is cool!! – unlike commercially bought things which many of look generic and samey. Good idea Maggie with those cards – you inspired me and this morning I used a part of an old birthday card, and when we added a photo, it made an excellent card for a nephew. Forces you to be creative too,when you recycle.

    • I haven’t been to the Vauxhall one – I must go and have a look. I’m with you on the recycling thing when it comes to furniture – I don’t have a single bit of new furniture in my house, apart from a couple of IKEA bookcases. Old furniture has soul x

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

