maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 90

In Christmas, London, public transport on December 18, 2014 at 12:02 am

IMG_4482

I went to London again and I don’t think I have ever known it more joyously festive.

I was in a different part of the city today – Sloane Square in Chelsea – and there were more of those beautiful big blobs in the trees.

Peter Jones has the most adorable window theme of a penguin family, in keeping with the John Lewis Monty and Molly commercial.

IMG_4474

IMG_4475

There were three men outside the tube station playing Christmas songs on big brass instruments.

I was there to meet up with one of my most adored and cherished friends, Julie Gibbs, the legendary publisher of Penguin’s beautiful Lantern imprint.

We met at the gorgeous Sloane Club, where there was the most perfect Christmas tree.

IMG_4472

Julie has the most exquisite taste. Follow her on Instagram for a treat.
http://instagram.com/julie_gibbs/

When I arrived back at Charing Cross, after a few other errands, there was a gospel choir singing carols.

Commuters had gathered to watch and cheer, which was the most lovely echo of the things which had were the highlights of the very start of my day, the morning trawl through Facebook.

Joy on public transport seems to be the theme.

I filmed the brass group and the gospel carol singers but I can’t make them embed in this post, so if you’d like to see them they are both on my Instagram feed (link here and also at the bottom of the page).

Oh it did just embed! How did I do that…?

Gospel #carols for cheering commuters at Charing Cross #Christmas #London #joy

A post shared by Maggie Alderson (@maggiealderson) on

  1. Maggie how gorgeous to see your catch up with Jewels – what a treat that would have been. London around Christmas is heavenly isn’t it? xx ps I had forgotten you were on Insta, must track down

  2. My day was slightly less elegant. Several hours spent in SLOUGH M&S. Don’t ask…

    But this morning we had an early tramp up and down the Long Walk near Windsor Castle and then meandered around the back streets. My husband still hasn’t forgiven me for dragging him back in midwinter, though. He won’t stop growling about the bleakness. I LOVE being here!

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

