maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 88

In Art, Friends, Sydney on December 15, 2014 at 11:55 pm

page7-1007-full

When I woke up and saw the news this morning I didn’t think I’d be able to find anything positive to say at the end of the day.

I’d gone to bed having seen a few mentions on Twitter of reports of an event in Martin Place and I woke up to the full siege.

How horrendous it was – and still is, with two innocent people now known to have died, both of them in heroic acts.

A truly dreadful day for Australia, but how inspiring I found the #illridewithyou movement which immediately sprang up.

It’s spirit of warmth, sticking together and inclusivity, sums up everything which made me fall in love with Australia, friendliest of countries, from the very first time I went there, in 1993.

For those not following events in Sydney today, the hash tag event happened when one commuter saw a woman take off her head scarf at a station – clearly scared of being attacked in a wave of anti-Muslim sentiment – and felt moved to offer help.

Rachel Jacobs posted on Facebook how she’d run after her the woman and said, ‘Put it back on, I’ll walk with you.’

Tweeter @sirtessa saw the post and had the idea for the hashtag, to be used by people offering to ride to work with anyone who ‘wears religious attire’ on their bus or train route. It has already grown to be a global phenomenon.

So that was one good thing out of a very dark day, although I do take some comfort that the creep responsible was a lone wolf, not the first wave of an organised campaign of terror. Please God – and that’s whatever God you feel comfortable with.

Among all that, I had some wonderful news from Sydney today. My adored and treasured friend, artist Pat Harry, has won the prestigious Pen & Pencils award.

This is a very special gong, because it’s bestowed by the country’s leading artists on the one they feel is the most worthy each year – and Pat is so so worthy.

I am in awe of her work. Huge, complex canvases, with lots of bold strokes and bright colour or stark black and white, combined with more subtle, muted areas. It’s a style which I would call abstract figurative.

There are figures in them but it’s all very ambiguous, giving them a great sense of mystery, yet there’s also always something narrative there to me.

The works at the top and below are from her installation Cocktail Party, where the large canvases where propped all round the gallery. I think it’s brilliant. It also seems oddly right to top a post that starts with such a dark subject about the effect of one individual on a group of random strangers.

page7-1011-full

I’ve had a while to think about how I would define her style, because I’m lucky enough to have a great big fabulous Pat Harry hanging in my sitting room. She gave it to us as wedding present and it’s very treasured.

I gaze at it every day and always find something new.

I love these pictures of Pat at the awards dinner at the S H Ervin Gallery, the moments of amazement and joy caught so perfectly.

P Harry 1

P Harry 2

P Harry 3

You can also see how beautiful she is. I can’t wait to see her and her son Michael Carr, when I come to Sydney next year. And if I’m really lucky, Pat might cook me dinner… she’s one of the best cooks I know too.

Congratulations Pat and – hint hint xxx

http://www.patharry.com.au/photos-4/index.html

  1. #illridewithyou

  2. Oh congratulations Pat…I can see it was extremely well deserved. Thank you Maggie for introducing Pat to me in this blog.

    Yes, it’s a very sad day here in Australia today Maggie….and yes the “illridewithyou” is one good thing that’s happened….but without a doubt religion has been responsible for (or the underlying cause of) many, many bad things.

    I salute the people of Sydney today. I pray and cry for those innocent Sydneysiders who were caught up in a terrifying event yesterday and into the early hours of this morning. Sincerely, Robyn.

    • It’s just so sad when misguided people twist religion – and I mean ALL religions – to justify their own messed up ideas. All the big religions have the same simple and good ideas at their heart (basically, the 10 Commandments) and then people seem to dedicate their lives to complicating it all and then using their ‘rules’ as a way to make other people the bad guys, who can then be persecuted with impunity. The bravery of the siege heroes – both protecting others – can give us faith in humanity. xxx

  3. I work in Martin Place Maggie. Thanks for finding some positives in a difficult day x

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

