maggiealderson

An announcement

In books, new book on December 14, 2014 at 8:54 am

We take a break from Seven Days of Positive, with this special message… I have something to share with you.

At last I can reveal the title and cover of my new book!

COV_SecretKeeping_26Nov

It’s not out until next April and it’s been killing me not to mention the title for the past year, because I didn’t want to pre-empt, but now I have the cover (which I’m thrilled with) and my publisher says I’m allowed to share it.

Secret Keeping For Beginners is the story of three sisters, Tessa, Rachel and Natasha, who all lead very different lives. There’s a stay-at-home mum, an ambitious divorced mother of two and a mega successful one who’s single with no kids.

Each of them thinks the other two have it easy… Each of them has something to hide.

Then there’s their lovely mother Joy, Rachel’s boss Simon and Tessa’s husband Tom. All of them sitting on a secret.

So what does the most harm – the things we say, or the stuff we keep bottled up…? Or is it just better never to tell?

Now I’ve got to try and keep the rest of it a secret until April comes around, but maybe I can give a few little hints…

SecretKeeping3D

  1. Congratulations Maggie!
    Can’t wait to read the new novel.
    All the best
    Meg

  2. Fabulous news, love your synopsis … April seems a long time to wait.

    • Thanks Tracie! It seems a long time to me too…. I was quite surprised the publishers said I could ‘go public’ with it this early, but they said it was fine so I couldn’t wait another minute. xxx

  3. Oooo can’t wait – great title !

  4. And it looks nice and thick 🙂 my kinda book

  5. Wow! This is rather exciting – more of an ensemble piece, extending on from Everything Changes but You. I can’t wait – I just wish I had it for the long plane trip tomorrow. I love the cover, too – very different from your past books but hinting at so much! All the very best with another undoubtedly excellent read. xxx

    • Spot on, Jane – I’ve gone ensemble. I really enjoy it, although it takes a lot more work, spinning all the different plates. I really like being able to think in a man’s head, particularly!

  6. Oh Maggie I am so excited. This news is like my own little shower of shooting stars. I am going to London on Tuesday and one of your books generally accompanies me on my trips there – like a literary soundtrack. I was just contemplating this morning if I would re-read one if your earlier books.
    But now I will hold out till April.
    Great title . Excellent premise .
    Congratulations and thank you for the early Christmas gift.
    Jennifer.

    • Thanks so much Jennifer – I can’t tell you what it means to me to hear you say that. SOmetimes writing a book seems too hard. I love doing it, but there is so much heart, soul and energy required – not forgetting month, after month, sitting alone in a room – so it makes it all worth while to know that someone is looking forward to it. I hope you enjoy it xxx

    • Wow, Jennifer – what a LOVELY thing to say ‘a literary soundtrack’. That means the world to me. There’s some very specific London – and other spots outside of town – in this one… M x

  7. yay! it sounds great, and I love the cover. I will miss not having one of your books to take away with me next week. Is there an impossible to put down book you can recommend?

    • I really really loved The Goldfinch, but it’s looooong and I’ve heard it’s much harder to read on Kindle, than an actual book, so probably not good I you are going to be e-reading. For a light holiday read I love Jill Mansell, she’s so reliable and you can never go wrong with a Marian Keyes (although I’m saving her new one until I’ve 100% finished this book, it’s my carrot!). The book that has really really stayed with me since I read it is My Dear, I’ve Wanted to Tell You. It’s brilliant.

  8. Wonderful! Love the cover! Can’t wait to read it!

  9. Hooray! The cover looks fabulous and don’t you just love that ‘Internationally Bestselling Author’ banner? Can’t wait to read it and April is a long time away, so must do a reread of one your other books. Thank you for writing your books, we do love them!

  10. So excited. Now I just have to find the time to read it come April!!! Everything used to go on hold when a new Maggie came out. Not so easy with a 2 year old unfortunately but even if it takes me a year it will be worth it.

  11. Weee heee! How exciting, congratulations! Absolutely love the cover. Can’t wait to devour it, bring on April!

  12. Great cover. Fabulous you can reveal so early. I look forward to it. xx

  13. Hi Maggie. I know this is an old post but I’ve only just read it (quite surprising for me). I absolutely cannot wait until your new book comes out and like everyone else, I think the cover is fabulous. I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas and that your mum is doing well.
    Xx

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

