maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 79

In Accessories, Hats on December 6, 2014 at 11:58 pm

IMG_4234

I got my winter hat.

Every winter and every summer is defined by a hat for me. For each season it might be one of the old faithfuls I’ve had on rotation for years, but it’s always just the one. It becomes part of me over the season.

But the funny thing is, a hat that had seemed like the only thing I could leave the house in the year before, looks all wrong when that season rolls around again.

So sometimes, it just has to be a new one. Or at least, new to me.

This winter my trusty black beret looks too harsh against my older skin. My Greek fisherman’s hat sits too flat on my head. The fluffy leopard print beret I wore all last winter looks cheap. My faux fur Russian hat too much.

When I found myself seriously considering the knitted tam o shanter from my uni days (not this one, but similar…) I knew the moment had come. It was going to have to be a new hat. Or a new old hat.

mduoFFlIceaeu_ehDnJAkYg

Which is what it turned out to be. I found this tweed cap in my brilliant local vintage/designer sell on store and knew immediately it was the one. It has a full crown which I can perk up, adding crucial height.

It makes me feel very Left Bank, a mood greatly enhanced when Mel, owner of the aforementioned Wardrobe, looked inside and saw from the label that it’s Russian.

I’ve decided it’s just the kind of thing Rudolf Nuyerev would have worn in the 1960s. And it’s just the thing I want to wear right now.

nureyev_184

Then on the way home through the wonderfully Christmasy-feeling Old Town, I came across some jovial carol singers at the top of Courthouse Street.

Being Hastings, one of them was dressed as a polar bear (as you do), but I didn’t realise one of them was my pal Juliet, because she’s not normally wearing a bobble hat. Juliet! Yoo hoo!

  1. Love the hat!

  2. that hat IS rather Ruski…the difference between chic and meh can be so subtle…on an unrelated note, when do we get to see a pic of your new Habitat desk? Is it too too fab?

    • It doesn’t look like much – just very simple white units, but it was radical at the time. She furnished our beach house from Habitat – sadly all the rest of it got sold. Waiting for my brother to drop the desk off x

  3. My 9 year old wore a similar one yesterday in her ballet concert, but in white vinyl, with a hot pink wig, mini shift and long white boots. So cute with all of them go go dancing to Quincy Jones Soul Boss Nova 🙂

  4. Nailed it – fabulous!

  5. Love it! I look dreadful in any type if hat, except weirdly, cowboy style which has ‘limited’ application IRL!
    Meg

  6. Likey. Don’t know why but your hat made me think about the 1970s’ film ‘The Night Porter’.

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

