maggiealderson

Seven Days of Happiness – Day 74

In Childhood, Mothers on December 1, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Yesterday was the second time in over two months I haven’t posted. Why? Well, nothing happened.

In a good way.

It was just lovely cruisey, family Sunday and it ended in the nicest possible way, with the three of us crammed onto one sofa in front of the fire watching I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here.

It was the kind of moment I am learning to clutch to my heart in the tightest embrace, because I know it’s what my mum misses more than anything now we are all grown up and gone away and my father is no longer with us.

There’s nothing she loves more than having two of her four children, maybe a few grandkids, just hanging out watching a movie, maybe playing a game and having a laugh.

I’m glad I heard Harry Chapin’s corny song Cat’s In The Cradle when I was young, because although it is a bit cringey it really brought that message home to me and I’ve never forgotten it.

After I had my daughter there were certain songs I couldn’t listen to for quite a long time. Turn Around – also known as, Where Are You Going? In particular.

It used to make tear spurt from my eyes like water features.

Now I can listen to it again, because I’ve got used to the pure innocence of proper childhood being gone – and there are a lot of things to make up for that time when it does slip through your fingers, so mums of under tens, don’t fret too much. It’s great having a little mate you can joke with.

I particularly like Nanci Griffiths’ version, which you can listen to below.

But the song that I most identify with for how I feel about my own darling is by the incomparable Rickie Lee Jones. It’s cool and if there’s one thing my little weasel is, it’s cool.

‘That’s the way it’s going to be, little darling…
You’ll go riding on the horse in the air
Way up in the sky, little darling
And if you fall, I’ll pick you up, pick you up…’

Which songs make you think of the ones you love?

  1. I’m such an Aussie- I assumed “The Horses” was written for Daryl Braithwaite and that’s the version that’s familiar. It’s funny when you hear an original and it turns your perception of a song on it’s head.

  2. Tim Minchin’s “White Wine in the Sun” is guaranteed to bring a tear to my eye especially at this time of the year.

  3. I hear you! I have 3 little ladies, all of whom now are over 10, and time seems to be speeding away from us all. I had never heard ‘Turn Around’, so thank you for introducing me to it. Of course now I have leaky eyes, but it was worth it.

  4. Oh gosh Maggie I went all shivery with this post. RLJ sings the songs of my 20’s.I have adored Ricki Lee Jones since her first album in 1980 or whenever it was I thought she was the coolest girl in town. Magazine her album in the early 80’s got me through some broken hearted times. When my son was born Horses was on her album Flying Cowboys and it was a song I loved to sing to my now 26 year old baby boy. The chorus was sung with great gusto and heartfelt joy. I am going to go now and create a Ricki Lee playlist and will be brilliant!
    Nick Cave’s Into my arms is gorgeous and always makes me cry. Jeff Buckley’s Last Goodbye also never fails to have me in tears as I belt it out!
    Kate Bx

    • I think RLJ is still the coolest girl in town… That first album just never ever tires for me. And those other two tracks are two of my favourites too. Oh Jeff Buckley – if you scroll down there’s a post about him with the most AMAZING link to a radio programme I heard about him. Live tracks from his only trip to London. Such a loss.

  5. Oh Maggie- it never bloody changes! So she is in London and I’m in Sydney and for goodness sake she is 27!!!! And Passenger’s If You Love Her Let Her Go just makes me sob buckets even though they probs wrote it as a love song. But it’s about daughters too….they are so cool and you end up wanting to stalk them… Forever 😂😂😂

  6. Hi Maggie. Hunters & Collectors “Throw your arms around me” would be our family song. We played it at our wedding and I sing it every night to each of my 3 little ones when I put them to bed. I never get sick of it!

  7. Reading this post hit me so hard – the times with your family are precious and ultimately fleeting.

    I’m the same as Johanne above – I always thought “Horses” was only Daryl Braithwaite (70s Sherbert love god).

    And the tears came when I remember my dear little Chloe at 2 asking me, “You’ll pick me up if I fall, Mummy?” – she’d heard “Horses” and, being horse mad, must have taken in every word.

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

