maggiealderson

Seven Days of Positive – Day 72

In Art, Artists, Friends on November 28, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Kathe 1

It was Friday night, 6pm. My husband had dropped our daughter at her ballet lesson, then he’d bumped into a friend and texted me to say he was going to have a drink with him until it was time to pick up the weasel again.

I sat in front of this computer feeling like the only person in the world who didn’t have anything fun to do on Friday night.

I felt proper sorry for myself.

Then I got a text which made me give my lovely adored friend Derek Brown a ring and he reminded me that our mutual friend Kathe had a private view tonight.

derek

Derek’s husband Tony didn’t feel like going because he’d had a hard day working.

‘Shall we go?’ said Derek.

You have never seen anyone jump out of an office chair so fast. I was upstairs putting on my lipstick and a pair of heels like Roadrunner on a good day.

The private view was great. The galleries at Hastings Museums were packed with all the great and the good of this town’s eminent artistic community.

There was work by Tom Hammick, Andrzej Jackowski, Nick Archer, Gus Cummins RA, Matthew Burrows and our pal Kathe Deutsch.

The last show of hers I saw was a brilliant series of engravings, called Disasters of War, inspired by Goya and I love her series on boxers (top and below), so I was very surprised to see the very large paintings she’d done for this exhibition, of urban, industrial scenes, using bright colours as well as the more expected greys. I loved them.

boxer_bandaging

http://kathedeutsch.com/index.htm

A particular treat was chatting to Royal Academician Gus Cummins about his amazing piece of sculpture, which hung off the wall looking as light as cardboard – but was actually made of painted steel.

http://www.guscummins.com/index.html

There really is the most extraordinary concentration of talent in this funny little seaside town I live in.

My party pal Derek is another one of them. He designs amazing sets for TV shows. For a real visual treat follow him on Instagram and Pinterest and have a look at his blog.

This is one of his series of pictures of London alleyways.

tumblr_nfldcyk4YP1qc37uho1_1280

http://dbrown-esq.tumblr.com/

http://instagram.com/dbrown_esq

  1. What a great night! I like the first boxer portrait – for some reason it reminds me of Modigliani: just the morose expression on his face.

    I was feeling very much (self-inflicted) Nigel No-Friends last night, too – trying to knock over the rest of the school reports I was proof reading for a couple of other teachers. Is it too much to ask that a sentence has a noun and verb as the bare minimum? And whilst spellcheck is a handy little thing, using the defaulted American spelling in a school report is not a good look. These are a few of my favourite things…Yes, I need to get out more.

    PS I have a Grade One child that can use colons, ellipses and inverted commas correctly. All his own work!

  2. Oh serendipity can make for the best nights of all. Thrilled you got to have a great Friday night with some great arty folk. BX

  3. Love it, and love this series Maggie. It reminds me to more grateful and gracious.
    Meg

  4. Terribly envious. What brilliant work. xx

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

