maggiealderson

Progress

In Famous people on April 24, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Whenever I see this…

article-0-1D23FCE700000578-622_634x1058

article-0-1CE86C3B00000578-667_640x755

It makes me think of this

1288702502822

 

Not in a judgemental way – I love curvy women – but it just makes me think: they reckon the Willendorf Venus was made in about 28,000 BCE. So it’s a dizzying 30,000 years old.

We’ve been to the moon. Einstein, Pasteur, Curie, Turing, Mozart, Leonardo, Shakespeare, Mrs Pankhurst, Picasso and the Rolling Stones all did their bit, but we haven’t moved on much really, have we?

  1. Are butts the new boobs?

  2. The Venus seems to have a Brazilian so no, we haven’t moved on much.

  3. It has never registered with me before that the Venus has no face. Hmmmm…

    She always was one of my favourites in Art at school.

    • I know… I hadn’t realised until a comment above. I still love her. She’s just got a mask on that she wears when she wants some peace and quiet from all the kids and the horny caveman husband.

  4. Reminds me of my holiday in Cuba in 2000 and doing double takes at the local young women who enveloped their generous butts in tight lycra … striped mostly. If this is shifting into pop culture, wondering if implants of the lower body cheeks might be the next thing?

    • There is conjecture that Ms Kardashian is augmented, but I don’t know if it’s true. I love big butts (and I cannot lie), I wish I had a big round bum. I have a terrible tiny flat one and would be considered hideous in Brazil. Lucky I have never had any interest in going there.

  5. Bound and gaged. How women should be. (Too dark?)

    • eek, gosh, I see what you mean, I wasn’t looking at the face! I’m just so fascinated by the connection of flesh and fertility and how it’s still with us, despite the weird size zero blip.

  6. I am sure that Kim K is very glad to have a much neater waist than the W Venus.
    Can you see the back of the pantry yet? BX

  7. I have no butt either Maggie. So I can sympathise.

    Brazil is an amazing place, on Copacabana beach you see people of all ages and sizes jogging in the morning. Lots of people wearing lycra (who really ought not!!)

  8. You can tell the V de W is a hippy coz she has one of those crochet beanies on.

  9. I don’t care how much weight she has gained or lost, I don’t care who she is, I don’t care (in this instance) that I putting another woman down, I think her bum still looks big!!!!

  10. In historical terms, size zero is a ‘blip’. However to someone born in the mid 80s, I can’t recall a time when curvy=sexy. It was stick figures a-go-go in the media from the time I learned to pick up a magazine. Now we just need to start worshiping women again….http://www.amazon.com/The-Great-Cosmic-Mother-Rediscovering/dp/0062507915

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

