maggiealderson

School uniform

In Child, Childhood, School, Uncategorized on July 16, 2011 at 12:24 am

How many American films can you think about based on the apparently universal experience of the nightmare of high school?

From Carrie, to Diary of a Wimpy Kid (middle school, but seems to be same difference…) via Glee, Twilight and so many others it has always struck me as being the nation’s defining drama.

A big part of the collective trauma is based on being judged on how you look. How attractive you are. What you wear. Which tribe that puts you in and how you rank on the squash ladder which has the Homecoming King and Queen at its apex.

They’re right – it is a bloody nightmare!

And then the state-run, nationwide institutions which endorse this code of values – good looks, popularity and social success – officially encode it at the end of each graduating year with that terrible concept: the year book.

I loathed every moment of school, but give thanks daily there was no year book, or ‘prom’ at the end of it. I did barely enough work to scrape through anyway, I was so busy thinking about how I looked and how popular I was and if a certain boy liked me. If those anxieties had been an official part of my academic life, I would have imploded.

And if I’d had to choose my outfit for school each morning? I simply would never have got there. My father was always sitting in the car blowing the horn and fuming anyway and I only had my pimples to cover and my greasy hair to tie back. A daily outfit? It would have consumed my life.

Which is why I’m a big fan of school uniforms. How terrible it would be to be the poor kid who couldn’t have the cool new clothes at a US high school. It would scar you for life. Or make you into Oprah Winfrey.

And that’s not the only equalising effect. School uniforms make everyone look equally hideous. Obviously we are not talking about the St Trinian’s or Britney version here… I mean real, nasty, polyester school uniforms.

I love those shapeless dresses Aussie teenage girls wear to school. I can always imagine their inhabitants getting home and sliding into their real clothes. The contrast must be extraordinary, but for the daily grind of school, those polyester sacks really do their job.

As a parent, though, I have found you sometimes have to bend the rules a little. My daughter’s school has an adorable tartan winter uniform. Here she is on her first day at school, five years ago. Aged FOUR, too too young, I should have kept her locked at her home, but there you are. That’s what happens when your birthday is all the way the wrong end of the school year (and read the excellent book Outliers, to see how that can disadvantage you your whole life…)

Three years later she graded up to Year 3 when the uniform changed from the dear little pinafore to a kilt. A nice idea, but hard when you’re the smallest child in your year and don’t have anything resembling a waist to hang it on…

Thus she would go off to school looking reasonable. And come home looking like this. Pure Eloise.

With a lot of very uncomfortable hours in between. That stupid uniform ate her alive. In the end I couldn’t stand it for her and changed the swamping kilt for a discontinued mini version I found lurking deep in the second hand uniform shop and swapped the stupid cravat for a nice comfy tie.

As you can see, she felt a lot more herself in this get up. And her results improved almost immediately.

So I’m a big fan of school uniforms for many reasons. They equalise the effects of income and beauty differentials and they can make inculcate collegiate spirit. But they do need to be comfortable.

What do you think? I would particularly like to hear from American readers (yes, that’s you Toby!)

And here’s one last (forgive me…) pic of Miss P wearing her uniform the way she thought it should be worn…

 

 

 

  1. I wore one of those shapeless Australian dresses to school in summer and the kilt in winter except that at my (all girls) school the trend was to wear it as physically long as possible in stark contrast to the “public” school kids a few streets away who barely had their undies covered. We were really quite prim. I was always grateful for the uniform and freaked out on every single casual day we had throughout the year at not being “trendy” enough. I read a Vogue article years ago that said we dress as grown women to impress our 15 year old selves and I know for me at least, part of that is true. I always felt inadequate compared to the other girls. I even have hair lust still over a girl with whom I went to high school but was not friends with really – the colour of her hair still sticks in my memory 20 years later. Anyway, yes, I think school uniforms are a great equaliser and I would detest being judged constantly through my teen years by my wardrobe choices & ultimately my parent’s income. I don’t think I found my personal style til well into my 20s and that pressure on a daily basis as a teen would have been an extra and rather stressful hassle.

    Oh, and I love that photo essay of Peggy in her uniforms.

  2. I had a choice of 2 highschools to go to. I flatly refused to go to Southport High because the uniform was poo brown. I chose Miami High. The uniform was a navy pleated skirt, white pin stripe shirt and navy tie, much better. I think uniforms are a great idea. I too, was sent to school when I was 4 (my mother had 3 children under 4 and lied about my age) and was so small in my first year of high school my mother had to make me a uniform. I survived without too many scars.

  3. hated hated hated school but the uniform saved me from further humiliation, low income status etc and like Peggy I transformed my uniform..added a bit of this…took off a bit of that and was extremely pleased with the results and enjoyment was compounded by the teacher’s anger and annoyance…plus the uniform (ties and all) brought a bit of much needed androgny (in a co-ed school) that suited the geeky tall super skinny me!

  4. I went to school in America and never had to wear a uniform. Choosing your own wardrobe isn’t all that traumatic as Hollywood makes it out to be. There are many different trends you can follow, depending on which sub-culture you identify with, and certainly all sorts of different price points to achieve them at. I always felt bad for my friends who went to a private school that required a uniform. I now understand them to be great equalizers, and have proven benefits on education, but still…there is one school uniform in Brisbane I’ve seen that is just the most unfortunate florescent green ever. Nothing as cute as the tartans that you’ve pictured here!

  5. Thank god for school uniforms. When you go to school with people like this: http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/television/roxy-jacenko-buys-320000-black-aston-martin-v8-vantage/story-e6frfmyi-1225888344263 (yes, I really did), they become a saviour.

    I feel for Peggy being the tiny one but thankfully I was so sweet and innocent most of the stuff that should have traumatised me went straight over my head.

  6. I’ve only just got over the trauma of wearing bottle green – and I finished school 25 years ago!

    I do love the idea of the school uniform – as a parent, because you don’t have the worry of buying a million things for your child, but it’s also an equaliser…although I clearly remember the ‘groovy’ girls tarting their uniforms up a bit – until the nuns caught them!!

  7. I was much taken by the school uniform options available in cotton gingham at the supermarket when we visited UK family recently. Each of the local schools had a colour and there were shorts, skorts, skirts, shirts, etc available. Didn’t really have a good look and can’t comment on quality (or boy options!) but I was charmed by puff sleeved gingham blouses.

    Whilst school uniforms are a good idea in terms of all being the same, the reality is quite different. School uniforms made by the local supplier were detested belted sacks, whilst triple the priced ones from the posh department store had some shape and were much desired. School shoes, backpacks, rain coats were also fetishised. I wound up with second hand posh uniform frocks (a practice I’ve continued my adult life!)

    It was the fashion at my high school to wear very long uniform kilts in winter. I unpicked my hem and fastened it around my hips to achieve this. Had an added benefit in freezing Christchurch!

    Thank you for sharing the Miss P Gallery. We’re honoured!

  8. Dear Maggie,
    I know a little girl here in Tamarama who is roughly the same age as your Peggy and she has a real thing for strapless dresses and tops too. Its a mark of maturity (physically) and control (of a grown up) to be able to keep an item of clothing on without the aid of straps, isn’t it? Plus everyone gets to see those fab little legs that have been working so hard at ballet class (my end and yours). Tops marks to Peggy from me; kilt = winter sarong with shirt.

    I grew up in Brisbane, Queensland in 60s and 70s. The nuns had us in triple box pleated navy wool serge, wool tights and rabbit felt hats. It was not uncommon for students and more often the nuns to literally pass out on the parade ground due to the heat. We all looked very smart but honestly I think school days would have been much more pleasant for all concerned if we hadn’t have had to battle heat stroke for half the year.

    Also, dear Maggie,
    Have post for you to view.
    Please visit http://www.enrobe-moi.com
    Looking forward to your approval/comments as per previous.
    Many thanks and regards,
    Bernadette Green
    bernadette@enrobemoi.com
    http://www.enrobe-moi.com

  9. My high school was established in the 70s and the founding parents and teachers must have been tripping out … the colour scheme was lilac and purple. Seriously, it too a very long time for me to go near any of those colours again.

  10. My secondary school uniform was royal blue, with WHITE gloves, white knee high socks and a white straw hat like a Trilby!! It was the late 60s and we all hated the uniform, but, yes, it was a wonderful equaliser. Like Nikki, I can’t bear this colour to this day. We wore pretty “witches britches” under our skirts in winter to cover that terrible gap betweem knickers and the top of our stockings.

    The pictures of Peggy are gorgeous,the look in the last one is precious, and a warning for the future!

  11. Thank goodness for school uniforms! They make my life a lot easier. My youngest, a stylish lass from the time she could say “not wearing that!!!” would only wear an outfit where all of the pieces coordinated ie where every piece of clothing, down to her shoes, had at least a hint of the same colour in all. It made getting dressed in the morning a nightmare (and this was for child care for heaven’s sake!) School uniform changed all that. The winter uniform is a lovely tartan pinafore, worn with navy tights, which I think looks very smart. Each child refuses to wear it, instead opting for awful navy slacks and the school jumper. I have to say though, they are very easy to throw in the washer and dryer without too much fuss.

    When I was at school we wore the truly awful combination of green and gold, with the winter uniform finished off with brown desert boots and the summer uniform with dark brown jesus sandals. There was no hope of anyone being better than anyone else. We all suffered those monstrosities equally.

  12. PS. The lovely Miss P is just as cute as a button in the first day of school picture!

  13. I worked in production for school uniforms for a while. What a whoreanus job that was. If you somehow had thus far escaped being scarred for life, you would be after that point.

  14. The other thing people tend not to think of (but we teachers do!) is the benefit of taking kids outside school grounds and being able to *instantly* recognise them. Imagine taking 50 kids to Circular Quay. Keep imagining they are all dressed in different clothes. Argh! Now imagine they are in their easily identifiable school uniforms. Which one lot of kids would you rather try to keep an eye on? It’s a safety aspect that cannot be overstated.

  15. Going to an all-boys school in Australia, I actually enjoyed the uniform. It was actually stylish, and if worn correctly, gave the students a great introduction to wearing suits and office attire, how to tie a tie, etc. I especially enjoyed wearing the senior school (last two years of high school) uniform, and the green blazer. I have acquired a decent collection of blazers ever since then!

    One thing I do feel sorry for are girls who get stuck wearing the Aussie shapeless polyester sacks in an awful colour, such as poo brown or bright yellow – that has to make them all cringe!

    As always Maggie, a great article!

  16. Wow, I love Peggy’s last take on the uniform, she could start a serious trend there!

  17. Love the pic of Peggy stylin’ up her uniform – so Gossip Girl! Uniforms are great. I am a teacher and HATE casual clothes days. Kids go nuts and I can’t recognize any one.

  18. I’m another graduate of the shapeless Aussie school tunic. Ours was grey and white check with a red jumper. The length seemed fine at the time but looking back now, they were FAR too short. To this day I can’t do the red/grey colour combination as I feel like I’m wearing that uniform again.
    Your daughter is just divine – thanks for sharing your personal photos.

  19. I would have given anything to go to a school that had uniforms. Sadly (and I still mourn this), my parents refused to send me to this very cool Catholic Girls School that had blue and green tartan uniforms with white blouses and navy blazers. I was the only person in my school to own and wear a navy blazer to school at times!
    I think it is America’s ridiculous notion of “personal freedom” that prohibits schools from having uniforms. It is terribly unfair and mean at a time when kids are vulnerable. The wealthy kids dominate and the “fun” poked at those without the money to wear the latest styles is horrible. I hated high school for many reasons and one in particular. My school actually voted on “Best Dressed” and I was the choice. I was not proud of this, but embarrassed. My mother, who was very proud of this and a clothes horse herself, forced me to parade on a stage and I know that most of the kids were hating me.
    I know I was chosen simply because no one else dressed like me. I was wearing black and white “mod” style clothes at a school where no one even knew what “mod” meant.
    The photos of your daughter are simply adorable!

  20. As an American who taught in Australia for eleven years at four different schools (one of them tres, tres exclusive, ma chere), and who is back in the States teaching at (ready for it) public schools, the idea of uniforms is spot on. The class difference is more readily apparent when wearing ‘mufti’ and it is clear that clothes are the currency of popularity for American high schoolers. It CAN scar you: growing up pretty poor, I bought my own clothes and usually went to a St Vinnie’s or thereabouts. While that could be considered trendy and oh so chic now, it was just pitifully obvious back then. However, even with uniforms, kids are going to assert their non-conformist rebellion, if that simply means boys tucking in their shirts by only the 1/2 cm hem at the bottom and riding their grey trousers as low on their asses as possible to girls trying to get away with the bling of fake Chanel earrings, nail polish (the nerve!) or my personal fave, wearing the most hideously, outrageously bright bra possible under their virgin white blouse. My Aussie students loved the idea of American high schoolers wearing mufti all year (they didn’t realise that uniforms did exist, albeit in the labels one wore) and my American kids think uniforms are geeky…but kinda cool. As a parent, I liked the ease with which my children readied themselves for school–no worrying about Tommy H or Abercrombie and Fitch, just if the shirt didn’t smell too terrible to wear again. As a teacher, I liked it for its ability to level kids–for the most part, no one really knew if your parents owned a company or worked three jobs to send you there, you were part of the ‘family’ no matter what. Ultimately, that is what makes uniforms great. (And while I, too, like the pictures of your daughter in her uniform, I will always treasure the one of my [now 23 year old] son on his first day of kindergarten here in the US–button up shirt, bow tie, suspenders–oops, braces–and a smile that clearly says, “I can’t wait to get this gear off!”).

  21. One thing that I loved about school uniform dresses and skirts was the little zippered
    pocket in the side. You could keep all your essentials in there….money, locker key, hanky,
    tampon. I have often thought that these pockets should be a part of “normal” dresses…
    how handy would that be?

  22. Miss P for Priceless… she is adorable!

  23. All mine were horrible from brown and yellow in primary to a hundred shades of blue and navy in secondary but i was such a goody two shoes that it never occured to me to roll up my hem or adjust in any way i left home with my shirt tucked in in thw morning and i returned home with my shirt tucked in REVOLTING!

  24. Here here to zippered pocket comment! If ONLY clothes for women had more pockets. I saw a pair of cargo pants for guys and was going to buy them (being hipless) but they had awful velcro! Give me a zipper and lots of pockets. Buttons, too

  25. School uniforms are great. Equalizing! Yet with just enough room to express your individuality through things like jewellery, shoes, nose rings and green hair (I went to a public school, which means we had a uniform but could do whatever the hell we wanted with accessories). The clothing pool was glorious–a huge room full of 50 years worth of highschool-kid-handstitched variants on the original theme–shortened skirts, cunningly re-cut trousers and all of it FREE, as long as you donated an iten of clothing.

    I also dreaded mufti days (that’s the term for non-uniform in Australia, borrowed from the military I believe), and the inevitable parental fights that would ensue; “You’re not wearing THAT to school!” (long paisley skirt, frankenstein monster boots, sheer top, choker with a magic mushroom, lots of black eyeliner). I think we appreciated mufti because it gave us a chance to show our style, and we appreciated uniform the more for having experienced the anarchy of mufti.

    I remembered my mother forcing me to wear hideous granny shoes from the pharmacy (Homy ped I lbelieve they’re called)…which is why it sickens me to see young ironic trendies rocking the “ugly granny look” today — they don’t know how lucky they are — go out and buy a pair of cool shoes, dammit!!

  26. OMG! I love your comments. I want to go to Australia! I want to go now!
    This blog has made me realize that Australia is a real destination — and, of course, the Maggie books.
    I want to be in Oz.

    • Well why don’t you head on down? We are very friendly and welcoming here.. and even in winter we have good beach weather.. 🙂

    • From one Maggie fan to another … come on down Toby! Yes Australia is a real destination. Air temp now (mid winter, noon) 16.5 and water temp 18.5 … I’m going for a quick surf this very minute at Bondi. You might want to check out:
      Aquabumps
      Coastalwatch
      Swellnet
      all websites that cater to the water/sea oriented with daily updates, fab photos and live cameras (so surfers can check on the waves,etc before they arrive at the beach).
      Regards,
      Bernadette
      http://www.enrobe-moi.com

  27. I wore a lovely chocolate brown box-pleated uniform, with brown blazer, and a straw hat here in Sydney, and it was fabulous. We would took our belts off, and old girls complained we looked like a school for pregnant teens. Different girls all found ways to alter the look, from tiny skirts to maxi’s. And what you say is true, Maggie- school uniforms make the girls stand out, not the outfit. I don’t think America’s economy could suffer the switch to a uniform system, though! The money that goes into looking cool keeps the retailers alive.

  28. I’m a huge fan of school uniforms. I went to an “exclusive” girls high school, with hideous (and unbelievably expensive) uniforms. But thank god for them. As someone who grew hugely (9cm in one year was the record) I was forever growing out of clothes. My parents were spending all their money on the school fees, so they couldn’t afford the latest fashion for a child who grew out of them 2 months later. Add to that a complete lack of any kind of style or the ability to cope with the seemingly random ways my body was growing, and I really had no idea.

    Like Princess Kickbottom III the worst was non-uniform days. I would find the one pair of jeans I had that fit, and if I was luck a Sportsgirl t-shirt (remember the coloured t-shirts with sportsgirl in multi coloured lettering) and that was as good as it was going to get.

    Luckily at some point in uni I figured it out, but school uniforms saved me no end of drama in those hormonally fuelled, angst filled teenage years!

  29. You’re right, uniforms are great. Still are many many years later. I would be late for work everyday if I had to think what I am going to wear. The indecision is left for the weekend or week nights when I can guarantee I am going to drive my husband mad with many changes until I find the one that is just right for the event. But…. I do remember my mother buying me a blazer that was several sizes too big for me so that I would grow into it. Luckily, or not, I never got that big. The rest of my school life was spent working out how to shorten the summer or winter uniforms (those pleats were tricky) without anyone noticing.

    I love the tartan uniform though. I have just bought a tartan tunic to wear this winter with black top underneath and black leggings and boots. Makes me feel young again.

  30. There is no doubt about it, school uniforms rock! I’ve just waved off my teenage nieces (I’m acting in loco parentis)wearing their standard issue Aussie catholic school girl uniforms. One of them is wearing white ankle socks, the other black opaques. The style of dress is pretty much the same as I wore to school 35 years ago, although we did have a formal uniform for special occasions (it was cream, with top stitching and a hipster belt with a box pleated skirt -seriously). Anyway, I think school uniforms make life so much simpler for everyone in many different ways.
    Ps – I love how your daughter has styled her uniform.

  31. Uniforms are not equalising. Poor kids wear the old style, worn out second hand or ill-fitting items(so it lasts). The pressure to have particular items washed and ironed is immense. They are expensive comparative to normal clothes. They are often ugly, uncomfortable and inappropriate to the actual weather conditions. Wearing a uniform does not prepare you for making choices about clothes in adult life. I did not have my children because I had not grown out of dolls, I do not feel the need to dress them up.
    Uniforms try to remove individualilty – on purpose – which I don’t understand at all.
    The only good thing about uniforms is that the schools I chose for my children are uniform free and that ipso facto removes the superficial parents who equate appearance with substance.

    • Great! another point of view – I love that. Really interesting to hear your thoughts. It’s different in the UK where uniforms are generic for all state schools and so cheap that even the poorest kids can have a decent uniform now. It’s a really positive change that’s happened here. They mostly wear polo shirts, sweat shirts, simple pants and skirts, and the girls have cute gingham dresses in summer. Schools choose which colour and then they are in all the supermarkets.

  32. Look at how your daughter is working the camera, that glare! Oh dear. :p You may have a model on your hands in the future.

    I gradutated from a SHS (State High School for non-Aussie readers) 10 years ago, and coming from a single parent household where Mum was also studying, I was very happy about our ugly, grey with yellow trim sack uniforms (the year after graduating they introduced slacks and cute white shirts and ties for the girls). We had no money, and I had no taste anyway. My ‘uniform’ out of school was my brothers hand me down Levis, Dunlop sneakers, and a tie dye shirt (actually, that wasn’t so bad really, was it.) Ah, simpler times. 🙂

    I love your writing Maggie, thank you so much for it.

  33. I hated my Catholic secondary school uniform – brown tunic. I had (have) big breasts and it was very unflattering. Maybe it would have been even harder having to wear my own clothes to school, but I still don’t like seeing girls in private school uniform (I’m in Oz too). It seems so old fashioned. Having a son, uniforms are straightforward and a non-issue, but interestingly, when he went to school in London for half a year (Y5), he was at a state school that didn’t have a uniform. Having parrotted the line that uniforms are the great equaliser, etc, etc, I then discovered that not having a uniform was a non-issue too – even for the girls. Nobody was overdressing or dressing to impress – they were all just in ordinary trousers/tracksuits, nothing fancy but still looking nice. And it did seem to allow the kids to be seen as more individual people, simply by virtue of wearing ordinary clothes, rather than being a mass of ‘pupils’. So I have swung to the other side – I’m now against uniforms. I think they are quite infantilising, especially for secondary school students. And I also think they are used here to reinforce the elite status of various private schools – and as my kids attend state schools, the whole unfirom thing seems very antiquated and offputting to me.

    • aha! a really interesting view. A lot of UK schools now have a ‘loose’ uniform, more of a dress code. I must admit I like the infantilising aspect – it keeps the girls looking much younger than they would dress at weekends, which I think is a good thing. x

  34. Haha PrincessKickBottom: Homypeds! That reminds me of another side effect of the equalising effect of school uniforms – with no students’ outfits to mock we were merciless in our critique of our teachers’ outfits. We had one teacher who was a fan of the homyped (aka orthopaedic shoe that you can STILL buy in pharmacies) and the Osti frock (polyester, unflattering, bought in Woolies before they had cool, cheap chic stuff). I went to an all girls school in the 80’s. We had quite a nice uniform: blackwatch tartan, black opague tights (which I still love, obviously). Oh we would sit up the back and write each other notes, like fashion police, saying things like “get a load of [insert teachers’ derogatory nickname] get-up today” and then rip it to shreds in infinite detail. I still have some of those notes somewhere. Mean girl fun.

  35. At my first high school they let the senior girls choose from a whole range of dress patterns, but the material was all identical and you had to wear black shoes, white socks etc – really good for girls of that age who need to wear something that works for their confidence and their lifestyle ( We had to dive under a barb wire fence to get to school via the golf course)

    Second stupid posh high school had a frock that looked like something princess di wore while preggers! full boat collar, to the ankle, mid arm sleeves, box pleated full skirt – In Queensland! and it zipped up the back so the boys would unzip you from behind when you were sitting on the science stools…….

    Did anyone else ever get sent home on casual day?

  36. I love uniforms. Miss P and my Miss G have very similar uniforms. I love the tartan. Miss G also wears a panama in summer and a beret with a pompom in winter. Adorable. Don’t feel bad about using the uniform as one of your reasons to choose a school, it was certainly an influencing factor for me.

    I am still suffering from my school uniform. I wore bottle green for 12 years in winter and a shapeless Aussie polyester green sack in the summer, and even though it was 25 years ago I haven’t worn any shade of green since.

    I did have two years in my late tweens in the US. There wasn’t a formal uniform, but there was definitely a subculture uniform that everyone adhered to, depending on their tribe. Very hard to keep up for the children of a struggling student. I couldn’t wait to get back to the green polyester!

  37. My son is born in December and is only 2 1/2 but I worry about what his late-in-the-year birthday will mean for him as he grows up. I have read Outliers, so I know he won’t become a star athlete, even though I know that he will be a big, strong guy like my father was.

    I would be curious to know what your experience was with your daughter. Thanks!

    Susan

    • She’s one of the youngest in her year and always the smallest… It has held her back a bit. Particularly when they were little, at the start of each year the kids who were a whole year older were in a different zone and it has rather affected her self-confidence academically. As you mention, in sport it is the original unlevel playing field, but luckily for her gymnastics is her thing and her tiny size is an advantage in that. So, yes, it is harder for the young kids in each year and I’ve made myself cut her some slack for that reason. Good luck!

    • PS could you hold him back a year? if I had a my time over I would try and do that with my daughter…

  38. Thanks for your reply, Maggie. I don’t think I would hold him back for a year because that would have long-term implications. I think that as they get older, things even out and by the time they are teenagers, and certainly by the time they are adults, being born in December vs. January really doesn’t matter so much. Would you agree?

  39. omg maggie that last photo is perfection. you have greatness on your hands with lil peggy 🙂

    i haaaated high school. i felt like ugly betty. swear to god. it was awful.

    i like uniforms. i had a uniform, (very basic, polo shirts and shorts) but was constantly re-working it to feel more myself. smaller size shirt, flat front grey shorts instead of pleats or elastic waist etc etc.

    funny thing is non uniform days were my chance to prove something to others, mostly ppl i didn’t know and that shouldn’t matter to me, like to them i may be a fag/sissy/ugly/loser/etcetc but on that one day maybe they’d see that i was good at something.

    in hindsight i don’t think the bullies saw it that way! but dressing how i wanted became a passive resistance to the constant insults. it made it worse but they were gona go after me anyway so i figured i might aswell enjoy myself. it was the only way i could fight back. and at least they weren’t winning entirely.

    i’m in favour of uniforms. teenagers are going to make eachothers lives hell no matter what but at least uniforms start everyone on as even a playing field as possible.

    • I’m so glad you like it… She makes me laugh so much sometimes. Her dream is to dress like Britney Spears in the early days. She dreams of crop tops… but I think there is some taste in there too xxx I hate that you were bullied. Hate it. x

      • omg EARLY BRITNEY – she is the best!!!! that is too cute for words – and reminds me of myself – but i was more dressing like juanita from young talent time, and it was all about the ra ra skirt.
        i have been a britney fan from day one – that video (baby one more time) was styled perfectly – your girl has style

Leave a Reply

Fragrant Cloud

I think in perfume

Style Notes

Style Notes

Maggie Alderson

author, journalist, fashionist, motherist

The Grooming Guru

An Expert's Guide To Male Grooming

Mad About The House

The sourcebook for modern living

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

En Brogue

Love fashion. Love shoes. Hate heels.

North/South Food

Eating across the North/South divide

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Liberty London Girl

Just another WordPress.com site

The Selvedge Yard

A historical record of artistry, anarchy, alchemy & authenticity.

Cattle & Cane

Country Chronicles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

